All-Party Parliamentary Group on Yoga in Society



Minutes of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) 2022

Tuesday 1st November 2022 at 5pm – Room S, Portcullis House

1. Apologies

- Baroness Healy
- Baroness Verma
- Lord Bethell
- Lord Dubs
- Lord Stone
- Mr Mark Logan MP
- Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP

2. Election of Officers

- The following were all elected as Officers of the APPG for the coming year by unanimous vote.
 - Chairman Mr Jonathan Lord MP
 - Co-Chairman Rt Hon Ben Bradshaw MP
 - Vice-Chairman Mr Clive Lewis MP
 - Treasurer Mr Adam Holloway MP
 - Secretary Baroness Healy

3. Report on Activities

- The Minutes of the previous AGM (22nd July 2021) were approved unanimously.
- Mr Jonathan Lord MP and Ms Heather Mason gave a brief recap on the activities of the past year, including:
 - A successful speaking event in Parliament titled, 'Yoga's Importance in Improving Child and Adolescent Mental Health'. Speakers included:
 - Dr Jon Goldin Former Chair of Child and Adolescent Mental Health, Royal College of Psychiatry)
 - Dr Sat Bir Khalsa Harvard Medical School (yoga researcher and assistant lecturer)

- Dr Lana Jackson Yoga Therapist and Senior Clinical Psychologist for Young People in CAMS
- Ms Jyoti Manuel Founder, Special Yoga
- Ms Charlotta Martinus Founder, TeenYoga

4. Looking ahead

- Mr Jonathan Lord MP hoped that the APPG would be able to undertake more work and important meetings in the year ahead, including possible speaker meetings.
- The members of the APPG discussed the possibility of running regular yoga sessions in Parliament for MPs, Peers and staff.
- The members of the APPG held further discussions about important matters related to yoga and to the APPG and its potential future work programme and activities. Mr Jonathan Lord MP thanked the Officers and Members of the APPG for their encouragement and involvement in the group over the past year, and thanked the Secretariat, Ms Heather Mason, for her invaluable support.

The meeting finished at 6pm

List of Attendees

- Mr Jonathan Lord MP
- Rt Hon Ben Bradshaw MP
- Mr Clive Lewis MP
- Mr Adam Holloway MP
- Ms Caroline Lucas MP
- Lord Cromwell
- Ms Heather Mason Secretariat
- Ms Joanna Fletcher
- Mr Paul Fox CEO of the Yoga in Healthcare Alliance
- Mr Amish Tripathi Minister (Culture) and Director of The Nehru Centre
- Mr Nicholas White Office of Jonathan Lord MP